Nile Special Pool Qualification Back In Kampala This Evening


The Nile Special Pool Open regional qualifiers return to Kampala this weekend and like has been the norm elsewhere in the capital, small margins are expected to separate the top three from the chasing pack.

Pool table players ready for action in Kampala



  • Jacaranda – Lubaga
  • Orange country bar – Natete
  • Diana’s Pub –Kanyanya
  • Icon Bar


The Pool Association Publicity incharge, Michael Mawanda notes that the margin between the veterans and the rising stars has been significantly bridged in recent years. This he attributes to both the risen stakes in the Nile Special Pool Open and the heightened competition all year round.


This therefore makes any venture down the road of pointing out favorites quite a slippery one. But while shocks are expected to abound, Mawanda maintains that there are some players that he expects to at least be within the qualification slots.


Musa Sebuliba, whose fame skyrocketed during last year’s grand finale following his defeat of the then defending champion of the Nile Special Pool Open Jonan Turigye in the round of 16, is expected to secure his slot at Orange County on Friday.


But the 2015 Easter Cup semi-finalist, will be up against familiar opposition in Bunamwaya Pool Club’s Dezo Sewajje, the League One top scorer. Last year Sewajje secured his qualification in Entebbe adding to his budding career that includes a last 16 finish in last year’s Christmas Cup.


Isabela Pool Club’s Moses Musis, a five-year top league veteran and three time Nile Special Pool Open grand finale qualifier and Indigo Pool Club’s Isaac Kizito are expected to mount formidable challenges too.


At Diana’s Pub Idd Walusimbi is expected to maintain his record of never to have failed to reach a grand stage since his first attempt four year ago. Walusimbi’s main opposition may be William


Kanyesigye, who claimed this year’s Ntinda Open that featured renowned stars including the 2013 Nile Special Pool Open champion Turigye, national seed 3 and 4 Amos Ndyagumanawe and Sula Matovu respectively.



  • What The KCCA Ban On City Slums Means For The Real Estate Sector
  • Annual Uganda Hockey Association Easter Cup Starts Tomorrow
  • Cholera Outbreak In Kampala: 6 Dead, 21 In Critical Condition
  • Everything You Need To Know About Transport In Kampala
  • Uganda Police Tightens Security Following Fresh Terror Threats


The best three players in each region book slots to the grand finale slated to be played on Saturday, 24 October at the MTN Arena, Lugogo