Umeme IPO Wins Deal of Year Award at the African Banker Awards

umeme mother

Umeme Uganda’s power distribution company which launched it’s IPO last year has be honoured as one of the Top African Bankers at the African Banker Awards ceremony held in the magical city of Marrakech.


Umeme IPO won the deal of year award under Stanbic Bank kenya and Fieldstone South Africa. This award ceremony was held during the African Development Bank Annual meeting in the Taj Palace.


John Legend, Akon and Youssou N’Dour were present for entertainment and did a great job at wowing the guests reports IC Events.


Michael Joseph known for bringing M-Pesa, the mobile money platform was among the individual winners. And he won  the African Banker Icon.


This African Banker Awards event was organised by the African Banker magazine, IC Events and Business in Africa Events. It is a landmark event that celebrates excellence and best practices in African banking and finance.


Commenting on the ceremony, Omar Ben Yedder, Publisher of African Banker is reported to have said,

“Once again it has been a night where some of the exemplary leaders we have on this continent have been rewarded for groundbreaking work. It should be noted that the work is far from finished and banks and policy-makers need to continue to work together to create the instruments to reach out to the real economy of people for whom many of the products and services are out of reach.”


Here is the whole list of winners;

African Bank of the Year
Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria

African Banker of the Year
Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, GMD and Chief Executive, Access Bank 
Joao Figueiredo, CEO and Chairman, Unico Bank
(Award for outstanding performance and bold leadership)

Best Bank in North Africa
Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco

Best Bank in Southern Africa
Afrasia Bank, Mauritius

Best Bank in West Africa
FirstBank Nigeria

Best Bank in East Africa
Equity Bank, Kenya

Best Bank in Central Africa
BGFI, Gabon

Central Bank Governor of the Year
H.E. Sanusi Lanido Sanusi, Nigeria

Finance Minister of the Year
HE. Nizar Baraka, Morocco

Lifetime Achievement Award
Jean-Louis Ekra, President, Afreximbank

African Banker Icon
Michael Joseph, former CEO Safaricom and founder of M-Pesa

Investment Bank of the Year
Rand Merchant Bank, South Africa

Award for Innovation in Banking
Ecobank Transnational, Togo

Socially Responsible Bank of the Year
Nedbank, South Africa

Award for Financial Inclusion
Africa Guarantee Fund, Kenya

Fixed Income Deal of the Year
Ghana Seawater Desalination Project – Standard Bank, South Africa

Deal of the Year
Umeme IPO – cfc Stanbic (Kenya) and Fieldstone (South Africa)

Private Equity Fund of the Year
Citadel Capital, Egypt

Best Retail Bank in Africa
Groupe Banque Centrale Populaire, Morocco

Best Islamic Finance Initiative
Gulf African Bank, Kenya

Mortgage Bank of the Year
TUHF, South Africa

Brokerage House of the Year
African Alliance, Kenya