Mangat Wins As Kabalega Rally Results Stand


Anticipation ensued since the Kabalega Rally saga over  who the eventual winner of the fifth leg of the 2016 Uganda National Rally Championship. Godfrey Lubega had initially filed a petition to reprimand drivers who refused to start section six during the rally last weekend and many expected the results to be overturned.


However, according to the stewards’ decision released on Wednesday, the results stand and Jas Mangat remains the winner of the rally despite violation of article 19.10 of the competitions’ rules.


“Since [it] wasn’t a time penalty, results stand as they were and the winner remains the one who was underlined in the provisional results…However, he is reprimanded as par article 153 that stipulates all the kind of penalties that can be handed to a competitor who violates article 19.10,” said Kisitu Mayanja the Stewards’ chairman.


The win maintains Jas Mangat’s championship lead with 400 points followed by Hassan Alwi with 250 points.


However, Mangat and 18 other drivers violated the article and all are subjected to a penalty; if discontented, drivers are free to appeal the decision.


“It is usual to appeal and for fairness that is where there is room for an appeal and therefore with open arms, the federation welcomes appeals from any driver,” added Mayanja.



The Kabalega rally saga started when Ronald Ssebuguzi forgot to leave the time card with the time marshals to fill in the time which was realized by Jas Mangat. When drivers refused to do Section 6 as ordered by the stewards, a violation of the indicated article effected.