Democratic Alliance Confirms Four For Presidential Race, Lukwago Misses Out

The Democratic Alliance (TDA) has at a closed door summit Monday morning confirmed four seasoned politicians to battle it out for the Alliance’s mandate to stand in the upcoming presidential elections.

Mbabazi, Mao, Bukenya and Besigye will off

Mbabazi, Mao, Bukenya and Besigye will off


The Alliance, at the Summit, confirmed Democratic Party president Norbert Mao, Forum for Democratic Change president Kizza Besigye, former vice president Gilbert Bukenya and former Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi as the candidates.


The Alliance locked out Kampala Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago who has been attempting to join the race, first as a member of Democratic Party and later through his political pressure group Truth and Justice.


The Alliance is expected to announce the elected individual to lead them into the elections in 2016 anytime this week. More details will come as we get them.




The Alliance brings together some of the leading opposition political parties in the country under one roof inorder to find a lasting solution to the end of President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni rule.


Museveni under the National Resistance Movement (NRM) has ruled Uganda for close to three decades.

In attendance were Asuman Basalirwa of JEEMA, FDC’s Mugisha Muntu, Nandala Mafabi, Go Forward’s Hope Mwesigye, UPC’S Olara Otunnu Miria Matembe, Ken Lukyamuzi of CP and others.